Cases › security breach › LR-2026-0580
SearchLeak flaw in Microsoft 365 Copilot exposed data
Preliminary Why: 1 report: Tech Insider · subject to change · 1 independent report
Status: fix reported
No source states: loss or records, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.
Severity moderate: Bounded scope stated: the attacker never gained access to more than the victim already had, since the flaw was a disclosure bug and not privilege escalation.
Microsoft 365 Copilot Enterprise Search, an AI search layer that pulls answers from a user’s email, calendar, Teams, SharePoint and OneDrive content, was found to be exposed to a chained flaw called SearchLeak, tracked as CVE-2026-42824. A victim who clicked one link pointing to a legitimate Microsoft domain could have Copilot act on instructions hidden in that link. Copilot would search content the victim could already see and send it out through a Bing-mediated request that looked like ordinary trusted Microsoft traffic. Varonis Threat Labs disclosed the chain on June 15, 2026. Microsoft patched the issue on its servers, requiring no customer installation, and no vendor reported exploitation in a real attack. The sources do not state how long the flaw existed in production.
What happened
What was done
“Microsoft has since patched the issue on its servers, and no vendor has reported it being used in a real attack.”
Same developer, same risk, after the fix: LR-2026-0305
Risks
Primary50 incidents
Rising: 6 vs 2.8 a week
Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.
Controls
ApplicationNot effective (bypassed) Sensitive-data checks on outbound data
Control failure chain
L1 · ModelMicrosoftModel provider
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Model version not linked to a model card.
L2 · HarnessHarness not namedAgent framework vendor
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Outside content treated as data, not instructions, Prompt-injection detection, Confirmation after untrusted input, Validation of tool inputs and outputs, Tool allow-list.
L3 · ApplicationDeployer not namedDeployer
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Human approval for high-impact actions, Least-privilege access for the agent, Segmentation of agent components, Alerts on unusual tool use.
L4 · Infrastructure / targetOrganisation hit
No source mentions a control at this layer.
EffectiveNot effectiveNot effective (bypassed)Did not existNot stated in sourcesNot yet checkedAttacker's ownOrder: model · harness · application · target
Controls for this risk: result in this incident
| Control | Part of the system | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Tool allow-list | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Confirmation after untrusted input | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Outside content treated as data, not instructions | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Prompt-injection detection | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Validation of tool inputs and outputs | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Sensitive-data checks on outbound data | L3 Application | Not effective (bypassed) |
| Least-privilege access for the agent | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Human approval for high-impact actions | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Segmentation of agent components | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Alerts on unusual tool use | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
Similar incidents
Evidence
- What set it off hidden instructions in its input
No source states: how it was caught, when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause.
Show the full account: 2 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- 2026-06-04 NVD first published CVE-2026-42824.
- 2026-06-19 NVD record for CVE-2026-42824 was updated.
Show every field, with its source and grade
The AI system
What happened
Impact
Notes on gaps
CVSS scores are disputed across sources and were not recorded.
LR-2026-0580 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON