Cases › physical harm › LR-2026-0524
Wrongful death lawsuit after driver trapped in burning Model Y
Preliminary Why: Publisher not yet named · subject to change
Developing: a major or severe case captured in the last 72 hours. Later changes are logged on the corrections page.
Status: no action reported
No source states: loss or records, agent tool, could do, deployer.
Severity severe: Test: safety of life. The source states two men were killed.
A 2023 Tesla Model Y was involved in a single-vehicle crash in Claremont, California, on April 28, 2025. According to the lawsuit filed by the family of passenger Rasheed Bledsoe, the vehicle's Autopilot system did not steer or brake to avoid a tree. The filing also alleges that the battery pack ignited after the impact and that the battery enclosure lacked adequate fire suppression. The lawsuit says the electronic door handles remained locked, trapping occupants. Both Bledsoe and driver Matthew McMahon were killed. The plaintiffs argue that the deaths could have been prevented with mechanical overrides or other physical fail-safes. The case has been filed in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California.
What happened
What was done
No source states an action or fix.
Risks
Primary43 incidents
Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.
Controls
Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:
Harness ApplicationPhysical safety interlocks · Human approval for high-impact actions · Live behaviour monitoring · Adversarial testing before deployment
Similar incidents
Evidence
No source states: what went wrong, what it reached or did, how it was caught, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what set it off, what was done.
Show the full account: 2 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- 2025-04-28 Crash in Claremont, California, at roughly 2:00 a.m.
- 2025-04-28 Vehicle veered off the road, hit a tree and burst into flames.
Show every field, with its source and grade
The AI system
What happened
Impact
Context
Notes on gaps
Tesla's response is not reported. Filing date and disclosure date are not stated; the article date 2026-04-13 is publication date only and is not used as a disclosure date. Vehicle speed, driver actions, seatbelt use and posted limit are not stated; the eyewitness high-speed report is not used as fact. The number of affected third parties is not stated.
LR-2026-0524 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON