Cases › physical harm › LR-2026-0434
Snohomish County motorcyclist killed in crash involving Tesla Autopilot (lawsuit filed by family)
Preliminary Why: 1 report: KOMO News · subject to change · 1 independent report
Developing: a major or severe case captured in the last 72 hours. Later changes are logged on the corrections page.
Status: action reported, no fix
No source states: loss or records, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.
Severity severe: Safety of life test met: the crash claimed the life of a person, according to the sentence quoted.
A Tesla operating on Autopilot collided with a motorcyclist on State Route 522 in Snohomish County in April 2024, killing Jeffrey Nissen Jr., 28. The family's lawsuit alleges that the Autopilot feature failed to detect him or the change in traffic, and accuses Tesla of continuing to release the software despite known safety risks. Initial reports said the Tesla's driver was distracted by his cell phone; he was initially arrested, but no criminal charges have been filed. Tesla did not respond to press requests for comment, and the allegations have not been tested in court. The reporting presents the family's claims as allegations.
What happened
What was done
Risks
Primary43 incidents
Sorted by rule from the case's fields; not yet read from the sources.
Controls
Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:
Harness ApplicationPhysical safety interlocks · Human approval for high-impact actions · Live behaviour monitoring · Adversarial testing before deployment
Similar incidents
Evidence
No source states: how it was caught, when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what set it off.
Show the full account: 1 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- April 2024 Crash on State Route 522 in which a Tesla operating on Autopilot collided with the motorcyclist.
Show every field, with its source and grade
The AI system
What happened
Impact
Notes on gaps
The sources describe a lawsuit's allegations, not established findings. The lawsuit's filing year is not stated (only January). The date of disclosure is not stated, and the article date is not used as one. Reversibility, record counts and third-party counts are not stated and were left out.
LR-2026-0434 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON