Cases › made things up › LR-2026-0841
Accenture "Leapfrogging Development" report: alleged AI-hallucinated citations (disputed attribution)
Preliminary Why: Only a republished copy: Yahoo Finance · subject to change
Status: fix reported
No source states: loss or records, developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer.
Severity minor: tier applied as a grade D judgement: the only stated consequence is a report being corrected, which is routine cleanup. The document does not state whether third parties were affected.
Accenture published a report titled Leapfrogging Development, with researchers from IE University in Madrid, exploring how AI could improve productivity in Africa's agricultural industries. GPTZero's analysis alleges the report contains 15 fake citations and entirely fictitious case studies. Accenture denied the errors were because of AI. A spokesman said its review indicates the errors were the result of human error, and that there is no evidence they were generated through AI hallucination. The report is being corrected ahead of a re-release.
What happened
No source tells the story step by step yet.
What was done
“The report is being corrected ahead of a re-release.”
Risks
Sorted by rule from the case's fields; not yet read from the sources.
Controls
Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:
ApplicationGrounding and fact checks · Human approval for high-impact actions · Output filtering and redaction · People told they are dealing with AI · Drift monitoring
Similar incidents
Evidence
- What was done The report is being corrected ahead of a re-release.
No source states: a step-by-step account, when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what set it off.
Show every field, with its source and grade
What happened
Impact
Context
Notes on gaps
Included because the document describes a concrete published output (a report with alleged fake citations and fictitious case studies) that the reporting attributes to AI error. The report's publication date and the disclosure date are not stated in the document text. The $3,000-an-hour fee, the $1,000 monthly-bill limit, and the law firm cases concern other firms or unrelated events and were not used. A reviewer should decide whether to retain this record if AI involvement is not established. Extractor proposed values without quotes; dropped: .
LR-2026-0841 · version 1 · published 2026-11-04 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON