Cases › leaked private data › LR-2026-0836
SBI customer data exposure on dark web, preceded by CERT-In warning on autonomous AI agents
Preliminary Why: Publisher not yet named · subject to change
Developing: a major or severe case captured in the last 72 hours. Later changes are logged on the corrections page.
Status: no action reported
No source states: developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer.
Severity major: a live production compromise of a bank's customer data with an unbounded scope stated, since threat actors claimed over 375,000 entries against 3,897 confirmed records.
SBI, India's largest public lender, disclosed on 21 October 2026 a customer data exposure on the dark web involving personal records, loan applications and customer metadata. SBI learned of the breach on 16 October not internally but from external notices issued by CERT-In, the Defence Cyber Agency and a third-party threat intelligence vendor, after dark web claims had already circulated on social media. A preliminary review identified 3,897 compromised records containing PII, while external threat actors claimed over 375,000 entries and 2,722 loan documents. The article attributes the exposure to loosely monitored outsourced customer acquisition and direct selling agent pipelines. SBI issued no direct notices or advisories to affected account holders. The source notes the disclosure followed a CERT-In warning about autonomous AI agents penetrating enterprise networks.
What happened
No source tells the story step by step yet.
What was done
No source states an action or fix.
Risks
Sorted by rule from the case's fields; not yet read from the sources.
Controls
Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:
ApplicationData minimisation · Sensitive-data checks on outbound data · Human approval for high-impact actions · Output filtering and redaction · People told they are dealing with AI · Risk assessment per deployment
Infrastructure / targetSimilar incidents
Evidence
- When it was found 2026-10-16
- Records exposed 3,897
No source states: a step-by-step account, when it happened, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what set it off, what was done.
Show every field, with its source and grade
What happened
Impact
Context
Notes on gaps
The article is an opinion/analysis piece about a data breach; it does not state that an AI agent caused the SBI breach. The article does not state the date the breach occurred, only that SBI learned of it on 16 October 2026 and disclosed on 21 October 2026. Extractor proposed values without quotes; dropped: . Extractor quotes not found verbatim in document; dropped: .
LR-2026-0836 · version 1 · published 2026-11-04 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON