AI Risk Wire

Cases › produced harmful content › LR-2026-0768

Greenwood, Indiana man charged in AI child image case

Preliminary Why: 1 report: hoodline.com · subject to change · 1 independent report

Developing: a major or severe case captured in the last 72 hours. Later changes are logged on the corrections page.

Status: action reported, no fix

Severity major
Reported 7 Oct 2026

No source states: loss or records, developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.

Severity major: Test: many third parties, a stated count of two or more affected parties. Fact: investigators say images of at least two underage girls Steffey knew personally were on his phone.

A 38-year-old Greenwood, Indiana man was arrested after police say he used artificial intelligence to strip clothing from photographs of a teenage girl he knew. The case began when a teenage victim contacted Greenwood police in March and said he possessed nude photographs of her. Investigators say the phone contained images of at least two underage girls Steffey knew personally, and that he allegedly used AI to remove the victim's clothes from photographs and a video. Stewart Steffey was charged with one count of child exploitation, a Level 5 felony, on September 30. Per court documents, he initially denied that any nude images on his phone were of underage girls, and later said the images of the victim had been altered with AI. The AI tools involved specialize in turning clothed people's photos into nude images.

What happened

1 · What it was doingA man allegedly used AI tools to remove clothing from photographs of a teenage girl he knew.
2 · What went wrongInvestigators say the images were altered with AI to strip the victim's clothing from photos and a video.

What was done

Stewart Steffey was charged with one count of child exploitation, a Level 5 felony.

Risks

Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.

Controls

Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:

Application

Data minimisation · Sensitive-data checks on outbound data · Human approval for high-impact actions · Output filtering and redaction · People told they are dealing with AI · Risk assessment per deployment

Infrastructure / target

Bot and scraping defences

Evidence

No source states: what it reached or did, how it was caught, when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause.

Show the full account: 3 items from the primary sources

What happened, in order

  1. March Greenwood police were contacted by a teenage victim who said Steffey possessed nude photographs of her.
  2. September 30 Stewart Steffey was charged with one count of child exploitation, a Level 5 felony.

Not dated in the sources:

  • The man was arrested after police say he used AI to strip clothing from photographs of a teenage girl he knew.
Show every field, with its source and grade

What happened

Earliest source we hold
2026-10-07
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown
What set it off
misused by a person
C one secondary source states it
Who caught it
the victim
C one secondary source states it
Where its input came from
photographs and a video of the victim
C one secondary source states it
What went wrong
produced harmful content
C one secondary source states it
primary risk
RK15
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown

Impact

Severity
major
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown
Kind of harm
privacy
C one secondary source states it
Who was affected
at least two underage girls Steffey knew personally
C one secondary source states it
Why this severity
Test: many third parties, a stated count of two or more affected parties. Fact: investigators say images of at least two underage girls Steffey knew personally were on his phone.
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown

Notes on gaps

The year of the March police contact is not stated, so it is given as the month only. The date the incident occurred, and the date it was disclosed, are not stated; the article's 2026-10-07 date is a publication date and was not used as a disclosure date. Information about other cases and the national legal context was left out because it does not concern this incident.

LR-2026-0768 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON