Cases › security breach › LR-2026-0686
Grok chat data exfiltration via encrypted prompt injection (Cryptographic Context Injection)
Confirmed Why: 2 independent outlets · 2 independent reports
Status: advice only, no fix reported
No source states: loss or records, agent tool, deployer, industry.
Severity minor: Test: minor (contained to one evaluation). Fact: a single proof-of-concept reproduction, and the writeup reports no exploitation in the wild.
Adversa AI, a security company, disclosed a technique it calls Cryptographic Context Injection against xAI's Grok chatbot, tested on the grok.com web chat running Grok 4.5 Fast. A user asked Grok to summarise an ordinary web page; the page carried encrypted instructions that Grok decrypted in its Python runtime and then used to open a URL embedding the user's name, approximate location, subscription tier and conversation prompts. The tested transfer completed without a confirmation step. Adversa reported the issue to xAI on June 3, 2026, and says xAI acknowledged it without a mitigation timeline and did not respond to later contact attempts. Adversa reproduced the attack once on August 19, 2026 and published it on August 20. The writeup reports no exploitation in the wild, and xAI had published no statement as of that date.
What happened
What was done
“Quarantine untrusted content in a context with no tools and no credentials, returning only structured data to the privileged context.”
Risks
Primary50 incidents
Rising: 6 vs 2.8 a week
Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.
Controls
HarnessDid not exist Network egress control
Did not exist Confirmation after untrusted input
Control failure chain
L1 · ModelxAIModel provider
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Model version not linked to a model card.
L2 · HarnessHarness not namedAgent framework vendor
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Outside content treated as data, not instructions, Prompt-injection detection, Validation of tool inputs and outputs, Tool allow-list.
L3 · ApplicationDeployer not namedDeployer
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Human approval for high-impact actions, Least-privilege access for the agent, Segmentation of agent components, Alerts on unusual tool use.
L4 · Infrastructure / targetOrganisation hit
No source mentions a control at this layer.
EffectiveNot effectiveNot effective (bypassed)Did not existNot stated in sourcesNot yet checkedAttacker's ownOrder: model · harness · application · target
Controls for this risk: result in this incident
| Control | Part of the system | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Confirmation after untrusted input | L2 Harness | Did not exist |
| Network egress control | L2 Harness | Did not exist |
| Tool allow-list | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Outside content treated as data, not instructions | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Prompt-injection detection | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Validation of tool inputs and outputs | L2 Harness | Not stated in sources |
| Least-privilege access for the agent | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Human approval for high-impact actions | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Segmentation of agent components | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Alerts on unusual tool use | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
Similar incidents
Evidence
- Cause a permission, scope or wiring error
- What set it off hidden instructions in its input
- What was done None reported: no patch, no CVE identifier, no user-facing workaround
No source states: what the AI was doing, when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, what was done.
Show the full account: 6 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- 2026-03-11 Utevsky publishes the same chain under another name, in tests against other models.
- since June Adversa says it attempted the attack 20 times with a 40% success rate.
- 2026-06-03 Adversa reports the issue to xAI and to its HackerOne bug bounty program; xAI acknowledges without specifics or a mitigation timeline.
- 2026-08-04 Further contact attempt to xAI; no response.
- 2026-08-19 Attack reproduced once on the Grok web chat running Grok 4.5 Fast.
- 2026-08-20 xAI has not published a statement or advisory on the research.
Show every field, with its source and grade
The AI system
What happened
Impact
Notes on gaps
The 40% success rate and the 20 attempts relate to Grok attempts since June and are not the same as the single reproduction on August 19, 2026.
LR-2026-0686 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON