AI Risk Wire

Cases › security breach › LR-2026-0620

Exposed server reveals AI-assisted phishing toolkit behind WebDAV malware

Preliminary Why: 1 report: The Hacker News · subject to change · 1 independent report

Status: no action reported

Severity moderate
Reported 20 Jul 2026

No source states: loss or records, developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.

Severity moderate: Test: data of others touched with a bounded scope stated. The stealer took wallets, browser credentials, session cookies and Telegram sessions from delivered victims; the real compromise count is not confirmed.

Rapid7 found a malware operator's delivery server wide open, exposing a toolkit of 1,048 files. The toolkit included phishing lures and tests of a Windows WebDAV working-directory hijack (CVE-2025-33053), and Rapid7 reads the artifacts as produced with generative AI. One campaign was live against Windows users in Mexico, delivering an infostealer through a fake government ID-lookup site over WebDAV. Over roughly 5.5 days in June 2026, the delivery panel logged 77,098 requests from 3,892 unique IPs. Those figures measure delivery reach rather than confirmed infections, since Rapid7 counts launch events and cannot see actual infections. Rapid7 said it is notifying CERT-MX.

What happened

No source tells the story step by step yet.

What was done

No source states an action or fix.

Risks

AI used to run a cyber attack
Primary
96 incidents
Rising: 24 vs 4.0 a week

Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.

Controls

Infrastructure / target

Not effective Inventory of exposed services

Control failure chain

L1 · Model Not stated in sourcesProvider not named
L2 · Harness Not stated in sourcesHarness not named
L3 · Application Attacker's ownThe attacker
L4 · Infrastructure / target Not effectiveOrganisation hit

L1 · ModelProvider not namedModel provider

No source mentions a control at this layer.

Model version not linked to a model card.

Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Safety training and refusal, Cyber and weapons safeguards, Abuse monitoring and account enforcement, Staged or restricted release, Dangerous-capability testing before release, Outside red-teaming, Content safety classifiers, Safeguards kept on in testing, Reasoning monitoring.

L2 · HarnessHarness not namedAgent framework vendor

No source mentions a control at this layer.

L3 · ApplicationThe attackerDeployer

The attacker ran the agent; this layer was the attacker's own.

L4 · Infrastructure / targetOrganisation hit

Not effectiveInventory of exposed services“A malware operator left its delivery server wide open, and Rapid7 pulled down the whole toolkit: 1,048 files spanning lure templates, filename-spoofing tests, execution experiments, droppers, builder notes, and two campaign chains.”The Hacker News

Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Known flaws patched, Multi-factor sign-in and password policy, Network segmentation, Intrusion and endpoint detection, Backups and recovery, Phishing and fraud filters.

EffectiveNot effectiveNot effective (bypassed)Did not existNot stated in sourcesNot yet checkedAttacker's ownOrder: model · harness · application · target

Controls for this risk: result in this incident

ControlPart of the systemResult
Content safety classifiersL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Safety training and refusalL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Cyber and weapons safeguardsL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Dangerous-capability testing before releaseL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Outside red-teamingL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Staged or restricted releaseL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Abuse monitoring and account enforcementL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Reasoning monitoringL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Safeguards kept on in testingL1 ModelNot stated in sources
Inventory of exposed servicesL4 Infrastructure / targetNot effective
Known flaws patchedL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources
Multi-factor sign-in and password policyL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources
Network segmentationL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources
Intrusion and endpoint detectionL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources
Backups and recoveryL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources
Phishing and fraud filtersL4 Infrastructure / targetNot stated in sources

Evidence

No source states: a step-by-step account, when it was found, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, what set it off, what was done.

Show the full account: 5 items from the primary sources

What happened, in order

  1. June 2025 Microsoft patched the WebDAV working-directory flaw (CVE-2025-33053).
  2. June 20 to 26, 2026 UTC The delivery panel logged requests over roughly 5.5 days.
  3. after June 24 The delivery burst cooled.
  4. July 20, 2026 The Hacker News confirmed the repository was public.

Not dated in the sources:

  • Rapid7 said it was notifying CERT-MX.
Show every field, with its source and grade

What happened

When it happened
2026-06-20
C one secondary source states it
Earliest source we hold
2026-07-20
C one secondary source states it
Who caught it
an outside party
C one secondary source states it
Cause
a shared system was the path
C one secondary source states it
Cause in detail
Delivery server left wide open, exposing the full toolkit
C one secondary source states it
What went wrong
security breach
C one secondary source states it
primary risk
RK07
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown
control chain
layer: L4; party: target; control id: J8; outcome: failed; quote: A malware operator left its delivery server wide open, and Rapid7 pulled down the whole toolkit: 1,048 files spanning lure templates, filename-spoofing tests, execution experiments, droppers, builder notes, and two campaign chains.; source index: 0
C one secondary source states it

Impact

Severity
moderate
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown
Why this severity
Test: data of others touched with a bounded scope stated. The stealer took wallets, browser credentials, session cookies and Telegram sessions from delivered victims; the real compromise count is not confirmed.
D inferred by us from the described behaviour, reason shown

Context

Country
Mexico
C one secondary source states it

Notes on gaps

The AI tool's role is Rapid7's inference (likely LLM-assisted), not a confirmed fact; the named tool Coderrr is only a likely attribution. Infection and victim counts are not stated; the 77,098 requests and 2,441 launch events measure delivery reach only. Harm classes financial and privacy inferred from the stolen wallet and credential data. Remediation recorded is advice from Rapid7 to watch behaviour; no fix by a party was reported.

LR-2026-0620 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON