Cases › security breach › LR-2026-0421
OpenClaw one-click remote code execution via crafted malicious link (CVE-2026-25253)
Preliminary Why: 1 report: The Hacker News · subject to change · 1 independent report
Developing: a major or severe case captured in the last 72 hours. Later changes are logged on the corrections page.
Status: action reported, no fix
No source states: loss or records, developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.
Severity major: Unbounded scope stated: the flaw impacts any Moltbot deployment where a user has authenticated to the Control UI. No count of affected parties is stated.
OpenClaw, an open-source autonomous AI personal assistant that runs locally on user devices, was found to have a high-severity flaw, tracked as CVE-2026-25253, that could allow remote code execution through a crafted malicious link. The Control UI trusted a gatewayUrl from the query string and sent the stored gateway token to an attacker-controlled server. Using the stolen token, an attacker could connect to a victim's local gateway, change sandbox and tool policies, and invoke privileged actions. Security researcher Mav Levin, credited with discovering the flaw, described a one-click exploit chain that takes milliseconds after a victim visits a single malicious web page. The issue was addressed in version 2026.1.29, released on January 30, 2026.
What happened
What was done
Risks
Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.
Controls
HarnessNot effective (bypassed) Sandboxed code execution
Not effective Sandboxed code execution
Not effective (bypassed) Human approval for high-impact actions
Control failure chain
L1 · ModelProvider not namedModel provider
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Model version not linked to a model card.
L2 · HarnessHarness not namedAgent framework vendor
L3 · ApplicationDeployer not namedDeployer
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Short-lived, scoped credentials, Secrets kept out of the model's context, Separate identity for each agent, Least-privilege access for the agent, Alerts on unusual tool use, Activity logs, Sensitive-data checks on outbound data.
L4 · Infrastructure / targetOrganisation hit
No source mentions a control at this layer.
Other controls for this risk at this layer, not mentioned in the sources: Multi-factor sign-in and password policy, Secrets scanning.
EffectiveNot effectiveNot effective (bypassed)Did not existNot stated in sourcesNot yet checkedAttacker's ownOrder: model · harness · application · target
Controls for this risk: result in this incident
| Control | Part of the system | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Sandboxed code execution | L2 Harness | Not effectiveNot effective (bypassed) |
| Human approval for high-impact actions | L3 Application | Not effective (bypassed) |
| Least-privilege access for the agent | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Separate identity for each agent | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Short-lived, scoped credentials | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Secrets kept out of the model's context | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Activity logs | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Alerts on unusual tool use | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Sensitive-data checks on outbound data | L3 Application | Not stated in sources |
| Multi-factor sign-in and password policy | L4 Infrastructure / target | Not stated in sources |
| Secrets scanning | L4 Infrastructure / target | Not stated in sources |
Evidence
No source states: when it happened, when it was found, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what set it off.
Show the full account: 3 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- 2025-11 OpenClaw was initially released.
- 2026-01-30 Version 2026.1.29 released, addressing the issue.
- 2026-02-02 The flaw was disclosed in the source article.
Show every field, with its source and grade
The AI system
What happened
Impact
Notes on gaps
The date the vulnerability occurred, the number of affected deployments or victims, and any confirmed exploitation in the wild are not stated.
LR-2026-0421 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON