Cases › produced harmful content › LR-2026-0369
Bethlehem man sentenced under new law banning AI child sexual abuse material
Preliminary Why: Publisher not yet named · subject to change
Status: no action reported
No source states: loss or records, developer and model, agent tool, could do, deployer, industry.
Severity moderate: test: data of others (photos of children) was touched and the scope is bounded, with three altered images saved
A Bethlehem, Pennsylvania man, Adam Erdman, was sentenced under Act 125 of 2024, a law that makes possession of AI-generated child sexual abuse material a crime. Erdman downloaded photos of children from a parent’s social media account and used AI photo-editing software to make the children appear nude, saving three altered images on his computer. His estranged wife found the images and contacted police. He pleaded guilty to one count of possession and was sentenced to 28 months to 10 years in state prison, and he must register as a sex offender for 15 years. Prosecutors said the case showed why the law was needed.
What happened
What was done
No source states an action or fix.
Risks
Read from the sources; not yet reviewed by a person.
Controls
Not yet read for controls. Controls that mitigate the primary risk:
ApplicationData minimisation · Sensitive-data checks on outbound data · Human approval for high-impact actions · Output filtering and redaction · People told they are dealing with AI · Risk assessment per deployment
Infrastructure / targetEvidence
- What set it off misused by a person
No source states: when it happened, how many records were exposed, the direct loss, a count of the other parties affected, any court case, the cause, what was done.
Show the full account: 3 items from the primary sources
What happened, in order
- March 31 Erdman's estranged wife discovers the images and contacts police.
- April 17 Erdman is charged.
Not dated in the sources:
- Erdman is sentenced to 28 months to 10 years in state prison and must register as a sex offender for 15 years.
Show every field, with its source and grade
What happened
Impact
Context
Notes on gaps
The year of the discovery (March 31) and charge (April 17) dates is not stated, so no full dates are given. The date of occurrence is not stated. The number of children and images beyond three is not stated, so no counts are given.
LR-2026-0369 · version 1 · published 2026-11-01 after automatic checks; not yet checked field by field by a person · JSON