{"schema_version":"0.10.0","id":"LR-2026-0463","record_version":1,"title":"Tesla Robotaxi crash reported to NHTSA (Austin, January 2026)","verification":{"human_verified":false,"method":"automated_gate","auto_verified":true,"score":49.5,"score_breakdown":{"source_authority":12.1,"independent_corroboration":7.0,"implicated_party_confirmed":0.0,"citation_integrity":14.0,"specificity":6.0,"completeness":2.88,"unhedged_language":5.0},"checks":{"schema_valid":true,"every_field_cited":true,"quotes_verbatim":true,"source_fetched":true,"distinct_incident":true,"dates_plausible":true,"sources_agree":true,"source_describes_incident":true,"severe_backed_by_source":true,"record_integrity":true,"eligible":true,"about_this_case":true},"gate_version":"gate-2026-10-18.7","cross_check_model":null,"cross_check_agreement":null,"duplicate_of":null,"verified_by":null,"verified_at":"2026-11-01","extraction_run_id":null,"evidence_level":{"level":"preliminary","reason":"Publisher not yet named · subject to change","original_document":null,"reports_total":2,"reports_independent":0,"reports_derivative":0,"developing":false,"disputed":false,"rules_version":"evidence-2026-10-29.1","computed_at":"2026-11-01","history":[{"date":"2026-11-01","from_level":null,"to_level":"preliminary","reason":"Publisher not yet named · subject to change"}]},"sources_hash":"9776c79c222a1c6a20d85ec68d139d19a25bbb978f9aaba50af59d664d7f8b91"},"system":{"model_name":null,"model_version":null,"developer":"Tesla","harness":null,"tools_granted":[],"permissions_scope":null,"autonomy_level":"supervised-auto","guardrails_present":[],"deployment_context":"unknown","tier":null,"lifecycle_stage":null,"integration_type":null,"intended_use":null,"safeguard_state":null,"production_intended":null},"event":{"date_occurred":"2026-01-01","date_occurred_precision":"month","date_disclosed":"2026-03-16","incident_class":"other","failure_class":null,"agent_involved":null,"secondary_failure_classes":[],"trigger":"unknown","duration":null,"detection_method":"unknown","summary":"A Tesla Robotaxi operating in Austin, with an autonomous driving system engaged, was involved in a collision in which a Model Y hit a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026. No injuries were reported. The crash was included in a February submission to NHTSA, which brought Tesla's total to 15 Robotaxi crash reports since the program launched in June 2025. Tesla redacted the narrative for the report as confidential business information, so the circumstances are not stated. The reporting outlet noted that without mileage data it cannot determine whether the fleet is getting safer.","tags":[],"date_detected":null,"near_miss":null,"root_cause":null,"root_cause_detail":null,"failure_class_detail":null,"responsible_party":null,"adversarial_actor":null,"input_provenance":null,"time_to_contain":null,"operations_paused":null,"remediation":null,"precursor_events":null},"impact":{"direct_loss_usd":null,"remediation_hours":null,"records_exposed":null,"third_parties_affected_count":null,"severity":"minor","harm_class":[],"affected_description":null,"protected_class_involved":null,"data_categories_exposed":[],"loss_range_usd":null,"reversibility":null,"downstream_exposure_count":null},"evidence":{"sources":[{"url":"https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/tesla-robotaxi-15th-crash-fewer-incidents-but-no-mileage-data/","publisher":"Electrek","date":"2026-03-16","type":"press","title":"Tesla reports another ‘Robotaxi’ crash, still only has a single unsupervised car - Electrek","archived_url":null,"attachment":"first_report"},{"url":"https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/affordable-ev-deals-volvo-ex30-update-and-teslas-latest-robotaxi-crash/","publisher":"Electrek","date":"2026-03-16","type":"press","title":"Affordable EV deals, Volvo EX30 update, and Tesla’s latest Robotaxi crash - Electrek","archived_url":null}],"per_field_confidence":{"system.developer":"C","system.autonomy_level":"C","event.date_occurred":"C","event.incident_class":"D","impact.severity":"D","event.summary":"C","system.deployment_context":"D","event.trigger":"D","event.detection_method":"D","context.country":"D","event.date_disclosed":"D","context.denominator_available":"D"},"field_citations":{"system.developer":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"Tesla filed one new “Robotaxi” crash report with NHTSA in its February submission, bringing the total to 15 incidents since the program launched in Austin in June 2025."}],"system.autonomy_level":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"Every single one of those vehicles operates with an in-car safety supervisor who has a finger on a kill switch."}],"event.date_occurred":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"The new incident involved a Model Y hitting a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged."}],"event.incident_class":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"The new incident involved a Model Y hitting a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged."}],"impact.severity":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"No injuries were reported."}],"event.summary":[{"source_index":0,"quote":"The new incident involved a Model Y hitting a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged."},{"source_index":0,"quote":"No injuries were reported."},{"source_index":0,"quote":"Tesla filed one new “Robotaxi” crash report with NHTSA in its February submission, bringing the total to 15 incidents since the program launched in Austin in June 2025."},{"source_index":0,"quote":"As with every previous filing, Tesla redacted the entire narrative section of its new crash report, marking it as “confidential business information.”"},{"source_index":0,"quote":"That’s a significant drop from the five crashes reported in the last report, but without specific mileage data from Tesla, there’s no way to determine whether the fleet is actually getting safer."}]},"notes_on_gaps":"Sources are press only (Electrek); no NHTSA filing or Tesla statement was provided. The crash narrative is redacted, so the cause, the supervisor's actions, and any control status for this crash are not stated; no controls were recorded. Model name, version, harness, tools, guardrails and permissions are not stated. Date disclosed and date detected are not stated (the 2026-03-16 article date was not treated as disclosure). Country and industry are not stated in a source sentence (Austin is a US city; I did not record country). Judgements: the autonomous driving system is treated as an autonomous agent for agent_involved; the crash is classed as other rather than a security or AI-failure class; RK18 is the only risk because no other risk is stated; severity minor is judged from the stated absence of injuries and no third party named. Duration, time to contain, records and loss amounts are not stated. Electrek's own mileage and crash-rate estimates were not used as values because they are extrapolations. [case created by the backfill: read by claude-haiku-5-5, backfill-2026-11-01.2, 2026-11-01; not yet reviewed] [2026-11-01: evidence level set: Preliminary (Publisher not yet named · subject to change)]"},"context":{"industry":null,"org_size_band":null,"country":"unknown","denominator_available":false,"denominator":null,"related_incident_ids":[],"systemic_exposure":null,"shared_model_id":null,"upstream_incident_id":null,"incident_evidence":null,"regulatory":null,"coverage":null},"narrative":{"steps":[{"step":"doing","text":"Tesla ran Robotaxi vehicles in Austin, each with an in-car safety supervisor.","quote":"Every single one of those vehicles operates with an in-car safety supervisor who has a finger on a kill switch.","source_index":0,"grade":"C"},{"step":"went_wrong","text":"A Model Y hit a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged.","quote":"The new incident involved a Model Y hitting a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged.","source_index":0,"grade":"C"},{"step":"caught","text":"The crash was reported to NHTSA in Tesla's February submission.","quote":"Tesla filed one new “Robotaxi” crash report with NHTSA in its February submission, bringing the total to 15 incidents since the program launched in Austin in June 2025.","source_index":0,"grade":"C"},{"step":"done","text":"No injuries were reported.","quote":"No injuries were reported.","source_index":0,"grade":"C"}],"model":"claude-haiku-5-5","prompt_version":"backfill-2026-11-01.2","extracted_at":"2026-11-01","source_urls":["https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/tesla-robotaxi-15th-crash-fewer-incidents-but-no-mileage-data/","https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/affordable-ev-deals-volvo-ex30-update-and-teslas-latest-robotaxi-crash/"]},"analysis":{"sections":{"timeline":[{"text":"Robotaxi program launched in Austin.","quote":"Tesla filed one new “Robotaxi” crash report with NHTSA in its February submission, bringing the total to 15 incidents since the program launched in Austin in June 2025.","source_index":0,"when":"2025-06"},{"text":"Model Y hit a fixed object at 9 mph with the autonomous driving system engaged.","quote":"The new incident involved a Model Y hitting a fixed object at 9 mph in January 2026 with the autonomous driving system engaged.","source_index":0,"when":"2026-01"},{"text":"Tesla filed the crash report with NHTSA in its February submission.","quote":"Tesla filed one new “Robotaxi” crash report with NHTSA in its February submission, bringing the total to 15 incidents since the program launched in Austin in June 2025.","source_index":0,"when":"2026-02"}]},"model":"claude-haiku-5-5","prompt_version":"backfill-2026-11-01.2","extracted_at":"2026-11-01","source_urls":["https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/tesla-robotaxi-15th-crash-fewer-incidents-but-no-mileage-data/","https://electrek.co/2026/03/16/affordable-ev-deals-volvo-ex30-update-and-teslas-latest-robotaxi-crash/"]}}